365- Concrete or Cement


concrete-or-cement1

Sandy Hook, NJ is the home of Fort Hancock, a miltary outpost in the early 1900’s. Although mostly abandoned, it is also the home of the Sandy Hook lighthouse, the oldest lighthouse in the US,  which was built in 1764.  This picture was taken about a 1/2 of a mile from there and although they are both built with concrete or cement, this unknown structure has not faired as well as the lighthouse, which still stands today.

15 Responses to “365- Concrete or Cement”

  1. wow…I may have to take a ride down there! Did you happen to catch the lighting of the Barnegate lighthouse this weekend? I may have to take a ride down one night and shoot it with it’s light on

  2. That is a great image, Mike. I really like the repetition of the three pilings. Very nice1

  3. tmcchesney Says:

    Love the structures, makes for one beautiful image – nice job!

  4. Great shot, never been there, but love lighthouses. Beautiful day too.

  5. The colors in this picture are beautiful, Mike. I especially like the sky.

  6. Great shot! I can even see the water lines (I guess that’s what they are ??) on the bases. I really like this one!

  7. Striking photograph! So glad the weather participated for today’s shot!

  8. Beautiful shot. Thanks for explaining the history of it.

  9. It’s fabulous! I love your interpretation!

  10. janets365 Says:

    Nice shot! The light was just right to keep all the concrete from looking cold and washed out.

  11. This is great, I like the light and the rhythm of remnants.

  12. Those are some huge chunks of concrete. I love the repetition of the three structures and the “white space” around filled by blue sky.

  13. Great composition on this one. I like it!

  14. Interesting shot – like the repeating of those stones at the top against the sky!

  15. […] As the year comes to an end I find myself looking back over my photos and blog posts trying to forec… […]

Leave a Reply

