365- Our Town


365- Our Town, originally uploaded by boomer3297.

This is a disturbing trend lately in our town. Howell is home of many horse farms, and as I drive around I see more and more “for sale” signs on these parcels of land. It would be a shame to see these beautiful pieces of property go by way of the developers.
On another note, please give me your feedback on this shot. I think the post is too prominent, and yes I know smack dab in the middle, but does the fence line draw you away or not? What do you think, good or bad, of the overlays. Love to here your opinion.

Click to enlarge.

8 Responses to “365- Our Town”

  1. I like the overlay on this one. The fence isn’t distracting…actually divides my thoughts as it does the photo. I like how the dwelling itself becomes almost minature because of how you chose to compose this shot!

  2. Danudin Says:

    An abundance of Bucolic, almost a classic rural shot.

  3. This is gorgeous! That threatening sky fits right in with the disturbing trend that’s going on all over.

  4. tmcchesney Says:

    I don’t think I would change a thing – the overlay and the effects are perfect for this spectacular image!! I love the fence – it leads me right through the picture!!

  5. Well, I have taken some photos where the leading line starts in the middle of the shot and wished I could have moved it over to the left a little for a better angle. However, on your photo, you have other leading lines (tractor ruts?) in the grass from the southwest corner. So those lines don’t distract from the hut on the left. Your horizon is at a good level, and the lowering clouds give a dirty, stormy day look. I like the redeeming golden color of the grass tops waving in the coming wind. So, there is a lot to say for this production.

  6. I like the overlays. I think the colors, lines and textures are great.

  7. I like the composition and your processing. Well done! /Viktoria – http://morrdrakens365.wordpress.com

  8. The textured overlay rocks!

    I’ll go against the grain here because a little dissension is a good thing. 😉 I would prefer for the leading line not to start in the center because the left half of the image remains stagnant while the right half has motion. I’d go for a square crop of the right side, starting just to the left of the post. (I know, you lose the neat barn, but I think it’s worth it…)

Leave a Reply

