365- Chains


365- Chains, originally uploaded by boomer3297.

Just a basic chain is what keeps this bike from thieves.
I learned a pretty neat duotone technique so I tried it out on this rather plain(colorwise) shot. Do you like the effect? If so, and if you haven’t ever tried duotone, I can post the steps……

9 Responses to “365- Chains”

  1. I like it a lot! It gives it a very nice touch.

    I just bought photoshop elements 7 yesterday, so I havent figured out anything yet.. Seems complicated, but I guess I will learn by playing around a bit.

  2. Fabulous tones and composition. I would definitely like to know how you did this.

  3. It’s a great simple shot and the effect used is great for it.

  4. Danudin Says:

    The weathering effect is stunning, I assume that is photographic detail not a doutone effect.

  5. Don’t fall off you chair! Now I like this, boomer!! I’d like to know how to do this. Please.

    I find the contrasts here exquisite. 😀

    • boomer3297 Says:

      99% of this technique comes from Scott Kelby, the 1% are my discoveries, accidental of course. There are essentially 4 steps, one that involves the internet, so have your browser ready.

      Step 1: The most obvious….have your photo ready in your preferred processing software.

      Step 2: Peruse photography sites like flickr etc that feature duotone pictures for colors that you like…..go back to your software and click on the eyedropper tool…click and hold your mouse inside your photo, now drag to the chosen internet photo to sample the color….it should show up on the foreground color in the tools palette.

      Step 3: Create a new layer in your photo….press Alt- backspace and the new layer should fill with this sampled color…then change the blend mode of that layer to color.

      Step 4: In the last step I added a vignette and signature, wow that’s my big 2 cents.

      Let me know how it goes, I know I get pretty jacked when I learn a new technique.

  6. This is fabulous! Love all the lines and textures and the colors on that bike are outstanding, they’re perfect for the porch.

  7. Clara Williams Says:

    Love the color processing. Looks great. This is a fabulous picture.

  8. Very nice subtle effects, both the vignette and the toning. I helps of course to start with a fine image. I keep swatches of colors I like for toning in a file and should add them to the presets.

Leave a Reply

