365- Handicraft


photowalk-044we, originally uploaded by boomer3297.

Although he seems to be craving some sort of walking stick, this is more about a portrait than a handicraft. This gentleman was part of my mural post and he was nice enough to allow me to photograph him.
For a professional critique of this shot go here. Let me know what you think of his critique.

9 Responses to “365- Handicraft”

  1. tmcchesney Says:

    Love this portrait – it shows a man doing something he loves! Love the depth and the COLOR!! 🙂

  2. jmckiss Says:

    Well, I guess I’m having a senior moment — I don’t understand the critique. But in my opinion this shot gets an A+ for composition, subject, and the quality of the shot — the subject is sharp and the background blurred.

  3. I agree with the review above. A perfect portrait. The colors and blur are very attractive, and the subject’s hands are wonderful.

  4. I like it, it is very colorful and I like the fact that a person that seems to be very creative is “placed” in a creative surrounding.
    Its lively!

  5. Danudin Says:

    My unprofessional critique is “It Zings Dude” Having the guts to ask is the biggest hurdle, bet you are glad you did here.

  6. I like the colors and the life in the shot. It’s candid and interesting.

  7. I like the fact that the hues and tones all blend together to make one perfect shot. The subject’s skin glistens, seemingly, covered with perspiration. He has a satisfied look on his face that indicates he loves creating – whatever it is that he is creating.

    Great shot. And yes, I agree with Ron. Half of the courage of the photo is in the asking.

  8. The composition and processing are fabulous. You portrayed his love for his art beautifully in his face.

  9. I love the color and as much as I admire C.T. and his daily critique I think yours is the more powerful image. The subject is strong enough to not be at all overwhelmed by the background I think. Double kudos to you for stepping out of comfort zones. I hope he does do a workshop on your image. Hard to think he had no idea of the Kelby photowalk…

Leave a Reply

